Frequently Asked Questions

Get answers to the most commonly asked questions.
Home > FAQs Home

What are the sub-skills that DORA measures?

DORA tests six individual reading sub-skills. There are many different ways to think about reading instruction, however there is a general industry consensus that each reader must have the ability to 1) sound out words 2) memorize words and 3) understand words and phrases well enough to make contextual guesses about unfamiliar words when necessary and to make sense of the text. The LGL Reading Assessment tests all three of these areas using eight subtests. These subtests include: 1) High Frequency Words, 2) Word Recognition, 3) Word Analysis (Phonics), 4) Phonemic Awareness 5) Word Meaning (Oral Vocabulary), 6) Spelling and 7) Silent Reading, and 8) Fluency. Each test is designed to target a specific reading skill and then the information from all subtests is pieced together to create a picture of a child's overall reading profile. 

Tags: sub-skills that DORA measures, sub- skills, reading assessment, DORA

    No comments yet.

Post a new comment:




Remember my personal information

Notify me of follow-up comments?

Security Challenge:

Type in the following word: reading